Posted by: Tony Carson | 7 September, 2007

Katie: Greetings From Baghdad

I first read Katie Couric’s breathless blog about her first day in Iraq on August 31, when she arrived. It haunted me over the next few days but I couldn’t find it to re-read it to see if my memories were correct.

I stumbled on it today via someone who thought her performance was as inanely pre-teenal as I did. It begins “Here I am, my first day in Baghdad… It is overwhelming to be here and there is so much to take in,” and it goes downhill from there.

There are many ways to interpret the disintegration of the American media. Pretending that Couric is a serious journalist is one of them.

Here it is: Katie: Greetings From Baghdad

Leave a Reply

Categories

