Posted by: Tony Carson | 5 October, 2007

Could you steal?

Woman turns in bag stuffed with $65,000.

What would you do if you found a bag of money, no one was looking and you knew you could pick it up and drive away?

It’s not technically stealing, OK, it probably is but it’s the kind of stealing that comes without a guilty conscience, I mean, you aren’t taking it from someone, you’re just … ah, taking it. So if it’s stealing, it’s stealing in it most benign form. ‘Finders keepers,’ right?

I don’t think I’d hand it in. I hate to admit that but I don’t think I’d hand it in. I’d tell myself I was salvaging it.

What I would do, however, is if I kept it I would see if I could deal with my conscience for a few days while I waited for someone to put out an APB on the bag. If I could convince myself that the money was worth more to me than the hit to my conscience and the APB amounted to nothing or was from some insured corporation like Brinks, well, I’d keep it.

Or I’d like to think I would. But I probably wouldn’t. It’s stealing. And what is the pay-back from the feeling of being Holier than thou?

Leave a Reply

Categories

