Posted by: Tony Carson | 21 September, 2008

The John McCain I Know

John McCain has become the very parody of the maniacal, get-elected-at-all costs politician. The new McCain knows a lot, a whole lot. This new McCain is a stunning contrast to the old Straight Talker who cozied up to the press to tell it like it is.

The new McCain appears to wants the oval office way, way too much.

But why? It’s not that he intends to bring any fresh ideas to the oval office. He doesn’t. None. At 72 years old, he is running a campaign of, essentially, more of the same … and expediently calling it change. So why bother? If there is nothing in particular you want to accomplish in office, why seek it? The only possible answer is … hubris.

It’s hard to escape the observation that McCain is running a stupendously vainglorious campaign, highlighted by the constant refrain of “I know!”

A few examples…

• On creating a new energy policy for the US: “I know how to do that and I will do it.”

• On wars: “I know how to win wars.”

• On world leaders: “I know them all.”

• On the world: “I know the world.”

• On the economy 1: “I know Americans are hurting now.”

• On the economy 2: “I know how to fix the economy.”

• On greed: “I have always opposed greed of Wall Street and I know how we can fix this.”

• On his arch-enemy: “I know how to catch Bin Laden.”

• On Iraq and Maliki: “I have been there too many times. I’ve met too many times with him, and I know what they want.”

• On Spain, apparently uncertain where it is: “I know the issues, I know the leaders.”

Mind you there are some things he admits he doesn’t know:

• Houses: I don’t know how many houses I own.

• Technology: I don’t know how to use a computer.

• Economics: “I know a lot less about economics than I do about military and foreign policy issues. I still need to be educated.”

It may be reassuring to some that he “knows the world,” but I doubt the world he knows has much to do with the 6 billion people who share it with him.

But what do I know.

Leave a Reply

Categories

