Posted by: Tony Carson | 10 December, 2009

War President Accepts Peace Prize

If US President Obama was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize a few weeks ago for the leader the world hoped he would be, he accepted the prize today as the leader he is.

In defending his wars in a speech in Oslo today, Obama neatly fits the predictable, packaged persona of the US Commander-in-Chief in thrall to the be-ribboned military, which itself is the face of the obese military industrial complex.

And he leads a country that has become so accustomed to war, and its pathetic knee-jerk to jingoistic patriotism, that in seeking new adventures the leader preaches to the eager converted.

While the world is appalled by the US escalation of the war in Afghanistan, a majority of Americans are in favour of it, even though the war, like the wars in Vietnam and Iraq, is unwinnable by any conventional definition and will cost much needed treasure, not to mention much cherished blood.

The long history of war as a useful tool in international relations came to an end when the vast majority of countries, including the US, signed a UN declaration that made it illegal to acquire land by means of war.

The inspiration for war, then, has become either brutal all-encompassing punishment (as many as a million people have died helplessly in Iraq) or an act of empire-building or, more in the American style, a means of building military bases to thereby gain economic (read ‘energy’) control of a country and region.

The rest of the world has pulled away from the hammer of war by making acts of terror, based from foreign countries, police-keeping operations: using intelligence and other means to bring the perpetrators to justice.

Not so the US which uses its $680 billion annual military budget to express its militant dissatisfactions around the world while building its military installations.

In endowing Obama with its highest honour, the Nobel committee has done irreparable harm to the Nobel brand.

Awarding a prize for what might be, only to find out that what is was always destined to be, cheapens the memory of those who actually deserved the prize and it tarnishes the gloss of any future awards.

And it encourages the war-monger.

Responses

  1. As I read your words I realize I am ashamed to be from what I used to believe to be the greatest nation on earth. That nation that fought for freedoms for all nations; the leader of the free world called America. Today I write from my new home in China.
    When Obama was awarded the Nobel peace prize, I asked WHY???? Perhaps for what they thought he would do. Perhaps the world believe as so many Americans that cast their vote for him that he was truly going to end the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq as he stated many times in his campaign speeches. bring our troops home, he would say.
    He also followed suite with former President Bush and rewarded the Rich Bankers and Corporations for their destruction of the American Economy with much cash as well as a new “Health bill” that will give the pharmaceutical companies and Insurance companies fat paychecks for the coming century as Americans become fatter and sicker and poorer.
    But alas he is a politician and is owned by corporate America the Military Industrial War Complex and the Energy Companies and so many more.
    I did not vote for him nor the republican candidate. Divide and conquer. The American people vote for who they are told to vote for.
    I will not vote again until there is a person that I can believe will be the leader the world deserves.

  2. Good day carsonspost.wordpress.com folks
    Vacation is upon us, pretty boring. Hoping to locate some entertaining internet humor.
    I pledge for your suggestions 😛

  3. http://maxalas.blogspot.com news,video,photo,sport

  4. If you don’t like the dark shadow it is possible tto apply
    the dark eye pencil. For brides, contour beneath the cheekbones,
    around the tempples (thins the face) along each side of
    the nose (thins the nose). The third shade will be
    your darkest, known as the accent.

  5. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an shakiness over
    that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case
    you shield this hike.

  6. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  7. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot.
    I was looking for this certain info for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  8. It’s amazing in favor of me to have a site, which is beneficial
    designed for my knowledge. thanks admin

  9. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend
    your site, howw could i subscribe for a weblog website?

    The account helped me a appplicable deal. I hwve been tin biit acquainted
    of this your broadcast providd shiny tranjsparent idea

  10. Tremendous things here. I am very glad to see your post.
    Thank you so much and I’m looking ahead to tojch you.
    Will you please drop mee a e-mail?

  11. Greetings I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was browsing on Google for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a incredible post and a
    all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great job.

  12. A superior DUI lawyer, not only has a great reputation, they also are
    intimately familiar with the way the system works and where the cracks
    are. The attorney would make his defense on the basis of substantial evidence and remove the allegations that don’t involve
    alcohol. Those individuals who are caught under this offense are required to pass various tests.

  13. Thanks for every other informative web site. The place else may just I am getting that
    kind of info written in such an ideal means? I have a project
    that I am simply now working on, and I have been on the
    glance out for such information.

  14. Thank you for another wonderful article. Where else could anybody get
    that type of info in such an ideal means of writing?

    I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the search for such info.

  15. I have mentioned that many bottled water isn’t the way to
    go, to ensure that laves tap water. So, when someone weighs
    a hundred and fifty pounds, thbey ought to consume about
    70 ounces of water per day. And supplying clear, safe and hygienic consuming mineral water is starting point in this path.

  16. certainly like your website however you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of
    your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very bothersome to tell
    the truth then again I’ll certainly come again again.

  17. hello!,I like your writing very so much!
    share we keep in touch more approximately your article on AOL?
    I require an expert in this house to solve my problem. Maybe that is you!

    Taking a look forward to see you.

  18. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    justification seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries
    that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and
    defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  19. By choosing products that have been tested and approved by a
    dermatologist to significantly reduce the likelihood of damage to
    the skin and, more importantly, greatly increases the likely hood
    that you are investing in a product that provides desirable results.
    The supplement known as vitamin B7 is occasionally referred to as vitamin H.
    The sugars and fast from fast food and junk food is going to contribute to unhealthy skin in anyone
    because these are not things that are healthy for the body, so you can’t expect
    them to be healthy for the skin.

  20. Regardless of how much people spend on their particular clothing,
    the greatest market is in reality children garments. These can also be an effective, handy and immediate remedy when too much oil is visible.
    They are great to wear on the weekend with a pair of jeans and a t-shirt.

  21. dinary window glass is transparent, but it has a shiny, reflective surface that allows sunlight
    to bounce off. If you go to ‘Opus 126’ and on the right hand side there is a list of further pages that you can pull up and one of them says ‘about’ and that gives a little bit of information. The best idea to find the most
    competitive deals is to search online where there are a range
    of deals available and the benefits are very tangible.

  22. All you need to do is find the recipe that appeals to you most, add the ingredients and simmer it.
    It is mandatory at all times to keep the focas on the expectations and convenience
    of site users at all times. As summer approaches one
    of the last thing that you want to be suffering from is blocked
    drains, they smell, flood and can be extremely unhygienic.

  23. dinary window glass is transparent, but it has a shiny, reflective surface
    that allows sunlight to bounce off. If you have been trying to find ways to make your home look more aesthetically pleasing,
    double glazed windows and doors might be just what you’re looking
    for. This spells convenience for the customer once they receive the
    end product.

  24. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?

    Thanks a lot!

  25. One of those sellers called us and told us that their tenant
    moved out of a house they owned and they did not want to be landlords any more.
    Ahmedabad is the commercial capital of Gujarat and one of the rapidly growing tier II
    cities of the country. Life insurance policies that are fully paid up
    may also be included.

  26. Hi there to every one, it’s truly a nice for me to pay a visit this site, it contains
    valuable Information.

  27. The major function of your thyroid gland is to maintain a hormone balance by a feedback loop
    system. Taking fewer carbohydrates and more of protein is good for health and the results are amazing if followed along with exercise.
    Housing homes are in big need real estate turkey in addition to commercial residential property.

  28. Excellent goods from you, man. I have bear in mind your stuff
    previous to and you’re just extremely great.
    I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way
    in which you say it. You are making it entertaining and
    you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to learn much more from you.
    This is actually a tremendous web site.

  29. If you have been found guilty under this law, the experiences that follows is quite daunting.
    Most people may not know but even when arrested on DUI charges you can maintain silence at initial interrogation. What about driving with a little bit of alcohol in your
    system.

  30. Hi there mates, how is the whole thing, and what you would like to say about
    this paragraph, in my view its truly amazing in support of me.

  31. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  32. Hello this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I
    wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  33. Hello I am so happy I found your site, I really found you by
    error, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the
    moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  34. It’s fantastic that you are getting ideas from this post as well as from our discussion made at this time.

  35. Four of the most important decision you will make is the brand of
    Jeep Bikini Top you purchase. have you bikini line waxed professionally then here
    are 3 bikini creams and. Not only will a tan make your skin tone
    look sexier, but it can also make you thinner, enhancing just how you look in that teeny weeny bikini.

  36. Helpful information. Fortunate me I found your website unintentionally,
    and I am stunned why this twist of fate did not happened earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  37. When some one searches for his essential thing, thus he/she needs
    to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained
    over here.

  38. you are actually a just right webmaster.
    The web site loading pace is incredible. It seems that you are doing any distinctive trick.
    Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a wonderful job
    on this topic!

  39. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and
    in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog
    posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access
    consistently rapidly.

  40. Fabulous, what a web site it is! This webpage
    presents valuable data to us, keep it up.

  41. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice
    from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up
    your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any
    points or suggestions? Cheers

  42. If the costs of parts, labor, and rental expenses exceed the actual cash value of your vehicle, the insurance company typically totals the vehicle.

    You have to determine whether the unit is actually getting power from the cigarette lighter.
    Make sure you check all battery power & ground connections.

  43. We stumbled over here from a different page and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward
    to exploring your web page yet again.

  44. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff
    previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful.

    I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you
    say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart.
    I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a terrific web site.

  45. I hope you enjoy them and can adapt them to your families needs or as gifts.
    Your boyfriend will feel extremely excited and
    relaxed if you pamper him with a massage after a hard-working day.
    Subscribe to the Sales & Deals Examiner for instant email updates on more last-minute
    holiday deals.

  46. One other gift basket variation would be a “sexy” gift basket loaded with eatable
    lotions, a bottle of champagne and naughty games or perhaps toys.

    For this reason, most of the companies like the above mentioned are desperately waiting to
    revert to the request they receive for baby free gifts or baby gifts online.
    However, similar products like the electric kettle is
    the need to produce professional manufacturer, this “losing is not” the gift to give consumers
    confidence to use.

  47. Because they are in the process of getting greener, there are three main categories into which all
    of their products fall. This isn’t a time for quick
    rash decisions but rather a time for trying different ideas, attitudes and insights on for size.
    Just strengthening muscle tone can have a very beneficial effect on the self confidence
    of an individual.

  48. Just like other clothes, swimwear too is subject to wear and tear.
    Whether you are an adult, or a child, it always gets through the topmost layers of your skin. Some of the popular ranges
    incorporate , Arabella, Celia, Frankie, Carly, Cindy, Deco, Mimi, Millie, Pippa, Pollyanna,
    Retro, Rio, Saffy, Zara.

  49. Actually, for the reason that numerous companies at this moment
    offer you sun tanning alternatives, the price tag on having a imitation auburn possesses ditched due to only thirty five in order to 62 dollars,
    according to the style of application form you
    want in order to select. Bronzers are generally added to the spray tanning solution for two purposes -.
    Duplicate beauty products can help you to limit any beauty emergencies.

  50. Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and
    come with almost all vital infos. I would like to see
    more posts like this .

  51. I just like the valuable info you provide to your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and take a look at again here frequently.
    I am somewhat sure I’ll be informed a lot of new stuff
    proper here! Best of luck for the following!

  52. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what
    I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole
    thing. Do you have any tips for first-time blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  53. I do accept as true with all the ideas you have introduced on your post.

    They’re very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the
    posts are too short for beginners. Could you please extend them a little from next time?
    Thank you for the post.

  54. In the case of someone who is an entry-level employee, schooling may come before
    work experience. One such directory is the Canadian yellow pages,
    which are in print, is found online and can be accessed through mobile devices.
    These pertain to earnings and great loss statements, taxes, audit and other
    key confidential information.

  55. Polyurea coatings have the physical properties necessary to extend the
    service life of concrete, and when coupled with new technology from Specialty Products Inc.

    If you miss a occurrence of your body you can use a cotton bud or alike to fill in the
    spaces. The finest self-tanning product manufacturers have a range of tanning creams, lotions, and sprays that you
    could try to see which suit you best.

  56. The main aim of such an approach is to plan the poses to make
    sure that beautiful pictures of the couple are clicked while also
    making sure that the photographs look absolutely random and very natural.
    Thus, when selecting a wedding photographer, pick one who has been frequently employed
    by many. Right from traditional photo albums for the more advanced
    digital platforms which include photos on CD or possibly DVD,
    fall shows and wedding photo galleries which might be viewed online.

  57. When you remove what feeds and stimulates yeast to grow, they literally starve to death.
    We haven’t gotten to know much about the rich inner life of Bikini Girl yet, so it’s
    hard to tell if the comparison holds up there. The idea
    is to keep a steady cycle of protectant application to the point the plastic surfaces
    just have a nice greasy slime.

  58. This is because insufficient research may be performed on penile enhancing, which means that boasts made today are biased or even unreliable.
    The main purpose of penis enlargement pump is to help in erectile dysfunction so that you can get the desired erection and
    maintain it. The best way to appropriately assess your penis is the place where it really
    is hard.

  59. Excellent article. I’m going through many of these issues as well..

  60. If you desire to obtain much from this post then you have to apply these methods to your won weblog.

  61. Hi there friends, nice paragraph and fastidious arguments commented here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  62. You really make it seem so easy together with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I feel I might never understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and extremely huge for
    me. I’m looking ahead for your next publish, I will attempt to get
    the dangle of it!

  63. Un autre cauchemar internet est ” movies bootleg en ligne” qui est
    fondamentalement contenus illegaux ou pirates tels que des films et
    de la musique telechargees sur l’internet avant la date de sortie officielle.

  64. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital
    to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you
    access consistently fast.

  65. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for bali dining


Leave a Reply

Categories

